Texas A&M University-Commerce linebacker Brucks Saathoff and cornerback Yusef Sterling-Lowe have both advanced as finalists on the ballot for the Cliff Harris Award, as announced by the Little Rock Touchdown Club on Wednesday.

The Lion duo are two of 30 Division II finalists for the award, with the overall winner announced Saturday.

Saathoff – a junior linebacker from San Antonio – finished as the leading tackler for the 2017 National Champions with 101 stops including six tackles for loss and four sacks. He had six tackles and a sack in the National Championship Game. He was previously named a first team all-Lone Star Conference selection at linebacker. He had double digit tackles in four games this season, including 11 at Central Washington and 14 in the National Semifinal victory over Harding. He was named Lone Star Conference Defensive Player of the Week against West Texas A&M when he made 12 tackles and forced a fumble.

Sterling-Lowe – a senior cornerback from Oakland, Calif. – was previously named a Second Team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association. The First Team All-Lone Star Conference selection has been one of the top cornerbacks in the nation in both pass and run defense. He had 41 tackles on the season, with two stops, a tackle for loss, a pass breakup, and a forced fumble in the National Championship Game. He defended 10 passes with three interceptions and seven pass break-ups for the year.

The Cliff Harris Award is presented to the top defensive player in the country representing Division II, III and NAIA colleges and universities. The winner will be announced Saturday and will also be honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s annual awards banquet in January.

For more information on the Cliff Harris Award and the full nominee listing, visit CliffHarrisAward.com.