Paris Independent School District is seeking nominations for the 2017-2018 Distinguished Graduate Award.  The purpose of the award is to recognize graduates of Paris High School and the former Gibbons High School for outstanding personal and professional achievements and to identify role models for Paris High School students.  Distinguished Graduates are recognized with a place of prominence on a Wall of Honor in the Paris High School Commons Area.

The Award Selection committee is soliciting nominations from the community for the Distinguished Alumni Award. Criteria for the award include:

  • The nominee may be living or deceased.
  • The nominee must have graduated from Paris High School at least 10 years ago or Gibbons High School
  • Must have received national or equivalent recognition for career accomplishments, distinguishing himself/herself as a leader and role model.

Distinguished Graduate Award Recipients

2012-2013: Raymond Berry, ’50; Trenton Doyle Hancock, ’92; Deon Minor, ’91; Gene “Bebes” Stallings, ’53; Admiral James O. Richardson, 1897 (Posthumous)

2013-2014: James Robert “Bob” Biard; ’48; Blake Neely, ’87; Eddie Robinson, ‘38

2014-2015: Leslie Satcher, ’80; Charles “Red” Scott, ’45 (Posthumous)

2015-2016: Linda Bates Leali, ’65; Dr. Charles R. Baxter, ’46 (Posthumous); Larry Dean Click, ’55 (Posthumous); Jay Hunter Morris, ‘81

2016-2017: Dr. Larry “T-Byrd” Gordon, ’67  (Posthumous); Thomas S. Moore, ’58; Lewis “Jackrabbit” Smith, ’41 (Posthumous); Charles Sterling, Ed.D., ’63.

To nominate a graduate for consideration, send the attached nomination form to or to:

Selection Committee
Paris ISD
1920 Clarksville Street
Paris, Texas 75460

Nominations received by May 1, 2017, will be considered for the 2017-2018 Award.

Nominees remain in contention from year to year unless the person making the nomination withdraws the name. Anyone making a nomination should continue to update a nominee’s file by sending additional information to .

Distinguished Graduate Nomination Form 2017.pdf