Social media has erupted with people using an app called FaceApp, and concerns have followed. Though the app has been in the market since its launch in 2017 by Russian developers, it has gone viral yet again due to its ability to make someone look older or younger. However, some concerns have popped up with the app’s access to users’ data.
According to TechCrunch, some users are worried the app’s use of users’ camera roll is in violation to user privacy. Plus, some users have restricted access to the phone’s photos and it still gains access. However, according to TechCrunch, Apple introduced an API in iOS 11 allowing this to happen. Since the user taps the photo, it gives the application access; tapping the photo provides user intent, according to Apple.
FaceApp released a statement in regard to privacy concerns.
“We’d like to comment on one of the most common concerns: all pictures from the gallery are uploaded to our servers after a user grants access to the photos,” they said in the statement. “ … We upload only a photo selected for editing. You can quickly check this with any of network sniffing tools available on the internet. Most images are deleted from our servers within 48 hours from the upload date.”