A local business has announced six recipients that will receive a $1,000 scholarship to an accredited high education school of their choice.

Lamar Electric Cooperative has announced the six $1,000 scholarship winners that were drawn at the Co-op Annual Meeting on Saturday, April 21.

Scholarship winners were Dakota Smith of Detroit High School, son of Angie Smith of Bagwell; Dalton Barnes of Chisum High School, son of Mickey and Sharon Barnes of the Harmon Community; Cody Gibson of North Lamar High School, son of Jeffrey and Melissa Gibson of Blossom; Jayden Townes of Rivercrest High School, son of Jeremy and Kim Townes of Bogata; Victoria Hess of Great Winds Academy Home School, daughter of Amy Foster of Paris; and Gillian Achord of Hooverton Academy Home School, daughter of Rose Achord of Blossom.

The six winners can use their scholarship at any accredited university, college, or junior college of their choice.

“The money used for these scholarships is from unclaimed deposits or refunds from our members,” said Lamar Electric General Manager, Jerry Williams.  “The law allows Lamar Electric to use a portion of these funds for scholarships, otherwise the money is turned over to the state.”

Each member can still file a claim with the state of Texas for unclaimed checks.

“We are proud that Lamar Electric can help these students achieve their educational goals and we encourage every co-op member to take this opportunity to submit the name of your son or daughter next year,” said Lamar Electric Director of Communications, Katie Morris.